They’re in the Race: Qualifying ends for October election

This October’s election promises to be quite the ordeal, as voting for numerous local offices such as tax assessor and sheriff saw multiple locals qualifying for their respective offices.

As is tradition, the race for sheriff had multiple people qualifying for the election.  Incumbent Ronny Richardson (R) will be challenged by Chris Abrahams (I), “Frankie” Howard (R), and Aaron Mitchell (R).

The other big election in the parish will be for tax assessor.  Current assessor Cindy Manasco has announced her retirement, leaving the position open for a newcomer.  Qualifying for the election are Ronald L. “Ronny” Bison (R), Carl Chance (D), Carroll Ellzey (D), Patrick Johnson (R), “Chris” Tidwell (R), and “Donnie” Wooley (I).

With the impending retirement of Clerk of Court Tammy Foster, two have qualified to run for the office.  They include Pollie Brandon (D) and Shelly Salter (R).

The position of Sabine Parish Coroner will be contested between Mark Holder (R) and “Ron” Rivers (D).

The office of police juror for district 1 will be contested between three Republicans:  “Willes” Funderburk, James Hickman, and Thomas “Bo” Stewart.

Police juror in district 2 will be contested between incumbent “Mike” McCormic (R) and William Kelly Stewart (R).

District 3 police juror will be contested between Charles “Charlie” Brown (R), Norman Mitchell (D), and James R. Murphy (R).

William Ruffin will remain police juror for district four as nobody qualified against him.

Matthew Murdock Adams (no party), “Jeff Gilligan” Davidson (R), and Georgann McNabb (R) are in the race for police juror district 5.

Eric Garcie (D) will return to his police jury position for district 6 unopposed, as will Ricky “K-Wall” Sepulvado (R) in district 7.

District 8 police jury will be contested between Kenneth M. Ebarb (D) and Larry W. Rivers (R).

“Randy” Bird (R) and Michael Mancil (no party) will contest the spot for police juror district 9.

Genevieve A. Gordon (D) will fill the spot of Sabine Parish School Board member in district 5 unopposed.

The race for alderman at large for the town of Many will be contested between Mary Beth Key Brocato (D) and Monte Davis (R). 

Robert Wayne “Bob” Grant (I) will be appointed village of Noble police chief unopposed.

Andrea Walraven Procell (D) is going to fill the position of alderman for the village of Noble after nobody else qualified for the race.

In statewide offices, the race for governor is going to be a brutal one as Democrat John Bel Edwards (D) faces stiff competition from Ralph Abraham (R), Oscar “Omar” Dantzler (D), Patrick J. Doguet (R), Gary Landrieu (I), Patrick “Live Wire” Landry (R), Manuel Russell Leach (R), M.V. “Vinny” Mendoza (D), and “Eddie” Rispone (R).

The office of lieutenant governor had two qualifying to run against incumbent William “Billy” Nungesser ®.  They are Democrats Willie Jones and Rao M. Uppu.

Secretary of State will see Kyle Ardoin (R), “Gwen” Collins-Greenup (D), Thomas J. Kennedy III (R), and Amanda “Jennings” Smith (R).

The Louisiana attorney general spot saw “Ike” Jackson Jr. (D) and “Jeff” Landry (R) qualify.

There is considerable interest in the office of commissioner of agriculture and forestry with Marguerite Green (D), “Charlie” Greer (D), Michael G. “Mike” Strain (R), Peter Williams (D), and Bradley Zaunbrecher (R) qualify.

The race for commissioner of insurance will be contested between James J. “Jim” Donelon (R) and “Tim” Temple (R).

Tony Davis (R) will serve as BESE district 4 after being unopposed for the position.

State senator in the 31st senatorial district will see “Louie” Bernard (R), Douglas Brown (R), and “Trey” Flynn (R) face off against each other.

Lawrence “Larry” Bagley (R) will return to his office as state representative in the 7th representative district.

The 24th representative district will have Willie Banks (I), Dr. “Greg” Lord (R), and Rodney Schamerhorn (R) face off for the position of state representative.


Rate this article: 
No votes yet